Shadows, Color and a Super Cute Baby

It’s been a very long time since I’ve participated in photo challenges. In fact, I don’t think I’ve done any in 2011 (or very few anyway).

I already had these photos taken a day or two before the themes were announced, so I figured, I may as well join up this week and share some of my more “artistic” photography!

This one is for Perceptive Perspective’s theme of “Window Light.” I’m not sure if this is what she meant by it, but I have actually been meaning to take this photo for a while and finally did last week! My sister’s cats love to sit in the front window, between the curtain and window, in the mornings, creating some really awesome light/shadow shots!

Photobucket

Next is a photo, I’ll be honest, that I’m not entirely thrilled with. I’m not sure if I screwed up the editing on it or what, but some of the colors look like they’re glowing (anyone want to help me figure out why, I’d really love to learn!). It’s for Faith’s Simplicity theme of “Colorful” (at least it fits well, right?).

This last one is my favorite one, by far! It’s one of the cute babies from our Bible study (there’s 5 of them now…hopefully more on the way soon!). I used one of the black and white actions from Mandy over at a sorta fairytale and I think this is my new favorite action to get awesome black and white images. I love high contrast images, and this particular action does it so well! I think I also used PW’s eye pop action (I’m to lazy to look up what it’s actually called). I’m linking up with Live Every Moment’s black and white theme.

I must say, it actually feels great to be doing this again! I have learned so much on the editing end that I feel like my images have improved a lot over the past few months! I’m excited to use these challenges to continue learning more!

Posted on February 17, 2011, in Photo Challenges, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Love your choice for the black and white challenge. What a cutie!

    That photo of the bright colored napkins also rocks. Nice work!!!

  2. That black and white conversion is just fab – I love his eyes – great catch lights.

  3. These are all great captures but what a sweet face. Love your conversion…gorgeous, and the catchlights are beautiful.

  4. That b&w is just amazing. So much depth

  5. Love the window shot and the B&W photo is gorgeous.

  6. That portrait is just outstanding! Perfect composition, clarity, and tones!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

