Being a Follower

With the recent interest in the 101 in 1001 challenge from the women in my online community on Facebook, I decided I needed a way to become a follower of their blogs so I can read about what they are doing and the progress they are making.

I knew I didn’t want to be getting a bunch of emails to my personal inbox – I get enough junk and ads as it is!  I ended up stumbling across what one website called a “reader” – a place I can have all the blogs I’m interested in following without my email inbox being bombarded.  I realize I’m probably a bit slow to get on the blog-following bandwagon and I’m showing my ineptness in the blog world by admitting I had never heard of this before a few days ago, but I am now following 26 different blogs through my Google Reader!

I love that I can group the blogs by category – I have my fellow 101ers, a few photographers, some recipe blogs my mom recommended, and other “miscellaneous” ones I didn’t put into a category.  The other thing I love is that it doesn’t send me an email notification every time someone posts to their blog.  I can log on and read through the new posts when it’s convenient for me – and if I want to read more or comment, I can just click on the link and I’m at their site.  Yes, it does take away from the designers who work so hard to make their websites and blogs unique, but the one blog I do subscribe to through email strips that away too!

It probably sounds really weird, but I’m excited to be a follower – in a way that works for me.  It’s just like opening up my email inbox or logging on to Facebook to see if anyone’s commented or tagged or posted something…and we all know how much we look forward to those little numbers each time we log on (even if we won’t admit it)!  It’s a little dose of Christmas morning excitement and eagerness every day!

Posted on June 26, 2010, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I know EXACTLY what you mean about that Christmas morning feeling… I love sitting down at my desk in the mornings with my cup of coffee and reading through the experiences and excitement that other people share.

Leave a Reply

