Power Outage

I am writing this from my husband’s HP laptop, because, sadly, my 6-year-old G4 Powerbook has likely seen its last day.

On Wednesday night, the power connection wasn’t working properly – the power wasn’t reaching the computer and because the battery is the original and hasn’t held a charge in a long time, it died within a few minutes.

I took my computer to the Apple store on Thursday afternoon and they encountered the same problems, even when using their own power cord, which means it’s a problem with my computer.  When checking-in my computer, I discovered that not only is my computer old, it’s on the verge of becoming obsolete, according to Apple.  That means that they will soon no longer make the parts for my computer, making it virtually impossible for repairs in the future or at least, very expensive.  I guess it’s time to start looking at purchasing a new computer!

They kept my computer overnight for testing, but when I called back Friday evening, I learned that they were waiting for someone who is more familiar with the older model laptops to perform the testing and diagnose the problem.  I’m still waiting for a call to find out if it’s worth it to fix my old computer or if we’re going to need to purchase a new one.

It will be hard to say good-bye to such a trusty machine that I’ve been able to use for SIX years, especially since its replacement will be smaller (I just can’t convince the hubby to spend the extra $600 for the 15-inch…though I’m not really sure what the major difference is between the two, other than the size.  Is two inches really worth $600?  I guess not.).  But, I’m also excited at the prospect of having a computer that actually has the power to run multiple programs at once without giving me the “spinning color wheel” as it tries to process what I am doing, as well as a battery that is supposed to last up to 10 hours (I’m doubtful on this, but I’m sure I will be able to get at least 6 hours of it).  That means I will actually be able to use my laptop as a LAPTOP again without having to worry about having a power outlet nearby to plug into.

So, now it’s just a waiting game.  Hopefully I will hear back from Apple soon and we’ll be on our way to South Coast Plaza!  Stay tuned!

Posted on July 31, 2010, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

