08.08.10: Scavenger Hunt Sunday

There are several reasons I am posting this today (though it probably won’t be “today” by the time I’m done).  First is because I think I got an AWESOME shot for “Motion Blur,” at least I think so.  Second is because I’m waiting for the laundry to finish washing so I have camo and jeans to wear for VBS this week.

If neither of the above were true, I’d be in bed, sound asleep since I worked a 14-hour day today and there are several more in store over the next week!

Okay, back to the scavenger hunt…

#1: Shadow/SilhouetteLast Friday, John and I went to Newport/Balboa area for dinner to celebrate our first date (blog forthcoming).  In the back of my mind, I had the items for the scavenger hunt and I had been looking at shadows all week, pretty much disappointed that I couldn’t find any I liked.  Then, we rounded the corner and I saw this and I loved the contrast between the organic and geometric lines and told John, “stop, stay right there!” while I snapped a few shots.  My husband is such a good sport!

#2: Motion BlurSo here’s one of the two reasons I’m doing this post.  We saw this ferris wheel at the Balboa Fun Zone and as it went around, I started experimenting with different shutter speeds to make the lights and the people blur just how I wanted to, and I just LOVE how this one turned out.

#3: MagazineI used to subscribe to 10 or 15 different magazines.  Most I used as a library in my classroom when I was teaching.  Since I’m not teaching anymore, I’ve narrowed it down to just 3 or 4 – all cooking.  It’s like Christmas morning when I get my magazines in the mail and I get so excited about the new menus and recipes and tips and techniques that might be hidden inside.  I usually find at least 4 or 5 recipes that we love too, so I totally think it’s worth it for the subscription (though John may disagree with me there).

#4: TenI really struggled with this one, until I walked into the door from work tonight and saw the backdrop from my 10-year high school reunion still in the dining room.  Yes, I am still having issues with letting it go.  Anyway, this week it is finally going away so I spent a few minutes playing with different angles, focusing on the “10.”  This one is actually one of those you end up tilting your head completely upside-down to get the shot (which is why it looks upside-down!)

#5: GlassThis is another image I shot on our date on Friday.  It’s the window of one of the restaurants in the area – and it’s made to look like an old cannery (hence why it’s called “The Cannery.”  I really liked the lines in this image and just now noticed the woman in the photo (which I’m totally bummed about!).

So, there you have it!  My first successful scavenger hunt!  I think the laundry is done and I have had WAY more typos than usual, so I think it’s time to go to bed.

Posted on August 9, 2010, in Photo Challenges, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Whatever the reason you participated, I’m so glad you did because these are great shots. I’m with you…that motion shot is incredible! I also love your glass shot. Very cool.

  2. Your glass shot is pretty dang cool 🙂 I enjoy participating in all these challenges, too. I wish I had more time to blog about them though.

    Your New follower! Alita

Leave a Reply

