#20: Eat at 5 ethnic restaurants

One of John’s high school friends was home from New York for a few days, so a few of us got together for dinner at a Cuban restaurant in Torrance called Tropi-Cuba Cafe.  It’s actually both a bakery and restaurant. As far as I can remember, I have not have Cuban food, so I was excited to be able to start working on this item on my 101 list (and to try Cuban food!).

I had the Pollo Rancho Luna.  It’s a garlic roasted chicken (1/2 of one!) that’s marinated in mojo (apparently that’s a popular marinade in Cuba – and it’s good!) served with grilled onions.  I also decided to be a bit adventurous and try the moros – the beans and rice are cooked together.  It was actually really good.  Oh, and don’t forget the plantains.  Wow!  I’ve had plantains before but wasn’t a fan, so I was hesitant to try them, but these were SO good!

John went with a pork dish called Pierna de Puerco – pork leg that’s marinated in mojo and then slow roasted for 10 hours.  It was so moist and tender!

If you are in the Southern California area, I highly recommend this restaurant.  Their prices are very reasonable and the portions are huge.  They also have a Sunday brunch buffet (I can’t remember if it’s all-you-can-eat, but I think so) that was very budget friendly and you get to sample a little bit of everything.  John and I plan to go back one of these Sundays to try it out.

Posted on September 2, 2010, in 101 in 1001. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Also, check out “Feilx’s” at the Orange Circle. Great Cuban Food.

Leave a Reply

