#8: Cook 25 New Meals (May & June)

It’s been quite the adventure adapting to cooking in someone else’s kitchen when they may not have a lot of the same utensils you do, primarily because they don’t cook nearly as much as you do.  It means washing a pan several times throughout the process of cooking or transferring food from a skillet to a pot because the skillet isn’t big enough or just totally improvising on exactly how it’s made (oh, how I can’t wait to have a kitchen of my own again!).

Despite some of the difficulties, I still managed to do several new recipes during the months of May and June.

New Meal #2
Date: May 9, 2010
Recipe Title: Orzo Salad
Where It’s From: Food Network website (Giadia De Laurentis)
My Thoughts:  This one was a winner.  I made it for Mother’s Day, and it was so easy and tasted so good. You can serve it cold, right out of the fridge, or room temperature.  It can sit out all day at a BBQ or picnic and not go bad.  And it tastes even better the next day…the flavors really have time to mesh together sitting in the fridge overnight.

New Meal #3
Date: May 17, 2010
Recipe Title: Chicken Enchilada Casserole
Where It’s From: My mom
My Thoughts:  My mom usually makes this with green sauce instead of red, but I’m not a fan of the green sauce.  Also, onions go a long way – don’t use too many!  This is another pretty easy one to do – it’s just layering tortillas, sauce, chicken, onions and cheese (though not necessarily in that order).

New Meal #4
Date: May 25, 2010
Recipe Title: Grilled Caribbean Lime Chicken with Tropical Salsa
Where It’s From: Healthy Cooking magazine, June/July 2010 Issue
My Thoughts:  While the chicken was delicious, it was actually the “salsa” that did it for me.  Oh my goodness, was it good!  I never knew what a little salt and pepper could do for pineapple, but wow, party in my mouth!

New Meal #5
Date: June 19, 2010
Recipe Title: Lemon-Mustard Pork
Where It’s From: Simple & Delicious magazine, June/July 2010 Issue
My Thoughts:  I was hesitant about this one because I’m not a huge mustard fan, but it was actually pretty good.  It wasn’t an overwhelming mustard flavor, just subtle enough to add some flavor to the pork.  I can’t remember for sure, but I may have cut some of the mustard from the recipe because I have such an aversion to it.  It’s definitely worth trying again!

Oh…if you haven’t noticed, I’ve upped the number of new meals I am making, just because I’m doing it so much!  Instead of just 5 (which I would have met on June 19) I’m doing 25…and I think I’m almost half way there now.  I wanted to challenge myself, not make it easy.  Plus, it’s fun trying these recipes.  So far, I don’t think there’s been much that we haven’t liked really!

Posted on September 2, 2010, in 101 in 1001. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

