Mission: Lose Lotsa Weight October Update

Yes, I was supposed to do this at the beginning of the month…not half-way through, but with anniversary celebration trips occupying the first two weekends of October, I just haven’t had time!

(Disclaimer: This is written as if it’s October 1…so pretend we’ve gone back in time two weeks)

So, here we go…the dreaded photo comparison.

I dunno…maybe it’s me, but I just don’t see much of a difference.  Maybe I’m expecting more of a difference.  Here’s how the numbers stack up…

Weight: 187 (-7)
Bust: 43.5 (-.5)
Waist: 43.5 (-3.5)
Hips: 48 (no change)
Size: 18
BMI: 33.1 (-1.3)

I’m especially excited about that change in waist.  I’m still not quite fitting into my size 16 pants yet, but hopefully by the end of the month, I can.  Any suggestions on bringing that hip number down?

So…the big question…how’d this month go?  Well, the first week and a half I dropped 3 pounds right away.  It was a great motivation to keep me going and not give up.  However, I gained those three pounds back the next week, but lost them very easily the next couple of days (maybe it had to do with that time of the month).

I walked/jogged 49 miles during the month (officially…I’m sure it was actually more than that).

I did have to change up my exercise routine because of my work schedule, so I’m now running in the mornings on Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.  I realized that’s probably better anyway.  My body needs a rest day in the middle of the week and not just on the weekends.  Granted, I have yet to actually exercise all 5 of those days, but we’ll get there.  It’s getting easier and easier and I find myself actually enjoying running (I HATED it in high school when I ran cross country).  I’m planning to sign up for a 5K in Long Beach on Thanksgiving morning.  I’m hoping to be jogging the full 3-miles by the beginning of November so I can really work on my time – my goal is 12-minute miles, so 36:00 for the 5K.

As far as food goes, I struggled a little, but did pretty decent.  I drank soda only a couple of times (moderation right?) and I’ve been doing pretty decent with my portion sizes.  I am finding myself hungry, but I figure that will pass soon once my body realizes it’s not getting the same amount of food it used to.  I’ve also started to change my attitude about eating in general.  Yes, food that tastes good is always a plus and food is meant to be enjoyed, BUT its primary purpose is to give us fuel to function…not to provided pleasure and satisfaction.  Having this new attitude toward food has made it a little bit easier to only eat the amount I’m supposed to and the healthier foods I should.

Next month will be tough though!  Our anniversary is going to be tough with the plans we have and dining out and all that fun stuff.  Hopefully I can be somewhat good and not gain the weight back!

See you again soon for another monthly update (hopefully around November 1).

 

Posted on October 15, 2010, in Mission: Lose Lotsa Weight. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

