#25: Visit the San Diego Wild Animal Park

I was trying to figure out how long it has been since I last visited the San Diego Wild Animal Park (now called the San Diego Zoo Safari Park). I went in early elementary school, which means it was probably about 20 years ago. It makes me feel so old saying that I did something 20 years ago!

Anyway, on to the most recent adventure. This trip was actually my anniversary gift from John. I knew we were going somewhere, I just wasn’t sure where. On Friday evening, October 1, John handed me a white envelope and I pulled out these:
Yep, pretty authentic looking plane tickets! He must have worked on these for a very long time! I was pretty sure we weren’t actually going to Africa, though I did believe it for at least a few minutes. I finally figured it out in the shower the next morning…we were going to the Wild Animal Park, which features animals from AFRICA!  I was excited because I’d be able to check another thing off my 101 in 1001 list!

We headed down to San Diego on Saturday morning, with rain showers throughout the drive. We thought we were in for quite a wet day. But as soon as we arrived, the clouds began clearing and it turned out to be a REALLY warm day (it can get pretty warm out there!).

I have a ton of photos I took that day (all with John’s “zoom” lens – it only went to 135mm…I’m used to my mom’s 75-300!).  I definitely want to go back with a good lens and do the special up-close animal adventure that was way out of our price range!

Most of these photos are pretty self-explanatory, so this will probably be more of a photo dump than anything.











I think that’s enough for now…the rest will come soon!

Posted on October 23, 2010, in 101 in 1001, Photography, Vacations & Celebrations. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

