What’s up in November?

There’s lots going on over here on Journalings of a Julius for the month of November!

I’ve decided to join three different “30 days” challenges.  The first is “30 Days, 1 Thing” being hosted by Ashley Jean at My Life Mixed with My Photography.  This is how the challenge works…every day, for 30 days, you take a photo of the SAME object, whatever you may choose.  If you want more details, head on over to Ashley Jean’s blog for info and to sign up!  Anyone have suggestions for an item?  I’m still trying to figure out what I’m going to shoot!

30 days one thing

The second 30 day challenge is 30 Days of Truth, hosted by Courtney at Live Beautiful.  There is a list on her site of 30 truths to answer each day.

The final 30 day challenge for this month is A Month of Thanksgiving: Counting My Blessings hosted by Branch of Wisdom.  It’s pretty simple…for 30 days, just write one thing you are thankful for!

Branch Of Wisdom

 

Next little bit of news coming this November…I’m hosting a new photo challenge.  I’m still working out all of the details, but plan for it to be on Thursdays.  Each week I will pick a winner and then each week’s winners for that month will have the opportunity to be selected by their peers as the overall monthly winner…and there will be a prize for that winner!  Check back later this week for all the details!

And finally…I’m going to enter the world of shooting RAW!  You see, last night when I was taking pictures at our church Trunk or Treat, I could not, for the life of me, figure out why my camera was telling me that I still had space for 999 photos on my memory card…and the number wasn’t moving after I would take a picture.  I tried turning the camera off and then on again. I checked to make sure there was a memory card in the camera.  I had pretty much resigned myself to the fact that this camera was just being obnoxious and I could deal with it not  correctly displaying the number of photos I could take.  I thought I’d try just one more thing…removing the memory card and then reinserting it to see if that might “reset” the counter to be correct.  What I discovered was my husband’s sweet, thoughtful “just because” gift of an 8 GB CF memory card to replace my 1 GB!  I was so excited!  Shortly after realizing I probably would never take over 1,000 photos at any given time, without downloading to my computer, I could now explore the world of RAW!  I’ve never, ever done it before…and all I really know is that it’s supposed to be better than shooting JPEG, though I have NO idea why or how to take advantage of it, so if you have any tips or links that I might find helpful, please send them my way!

So…lots going on over here!  What’s up in your part of the blog world for this month?

Posted on November 1, 2010, in Personal, Photo Challenges, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yay a new photo challenge!!! I’m looking forward to doing it!

    I also love the other ideas for the month! Looking forward to reading and seeing everything coming up for you!

  2. I’m using a red hot wheel as my item….You could use a quarter… It doesn’t have to be fancy!

Leave a Reply

