Hiatus

It’s Saturday night. I’m usually busy editing photos for this week’s photo challenges, especially the weekly Sunday Scavenger Hunt hosted by Ashley.

However, tonight, I just don’t feel like it. Aside from the fact that I don’t have at least 3 of the images, I just don’t feel like editing photos tonight. I’m sure my mood with change in a couple of days, but I think my creative brain just needs a break for a bit.

For the past few months, I’ve tried keeping up with between 10 and 15 different photo challenges or weekly blog memes, not to mention following 92 (wow…I didn’t realize how high that number was until I looked it up for this post) different blogs, ranging from photography, cooking, scrapbooking, crafting and home decor (I live in my sister’s garage right now…it helps my nesting urges until I have my own place). I get down on myself if I miss one…or two…or more. And don’t forget all the challenges I don’t even participate in at all! I wonder how so many of these ladies whose blogs I follow do it – and many of them are moms, too! I barely have enough time to work and be a wife. Throw blogging in there, and I feel like I’m always behind.

Yes, I know it’s just me and no one will really miss me if I don’t enter a challenge or two, but I do enjoy blogging and photography. Maybe I’m just putting too much pressure on myself. Maybe I’ve tried to do too much in the blog world to increase my readership (I’m sure that repeatedly checking my “page view” count throughout the day is not healthy). Maybe I should try blogging for me. Maybe I shouldn’t care how many people read this and just enjoy the photography and blogging about my life. If that means posting once a week or once a day, then so be it. It’s about me.

So, if you want to come back and see me later this week, I will be here…photographs, blogs and all…and this time, it’s all about me. And me needs a break for today.

Oh, and if you want to…I started a new photo challenge called LENS ART.  Feel free to enter…but don’t feel like you have to!  Remember, blogging should be for YOU!

Posted on November 6, 2010, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Take care of yourself first and if you have time for the other stuff great…no one is counting how many challenges you enter. Oh, and I see you’ve posted the themes for lens art – I better write that down!

  2. I stopped in following Ashely Sisk’s link. I can totally relate with what you’ve written. Taking a break is a great idea and nothing to feel guilty or ashamed for. I’m sure your many followers and internet friends will understand.

Leave a Reply

