The Past Two Weeks

I never intended to be away from my blog for two weeks. Time just flew by as I spent some time evaluating what I want this blog to be and how blogging will fit into my life. It was actually kind of nice to not have to worry about sorting and editing photos, writing a blog post, uploading photos, linking to memes, etc. I was able to enjoy the craziness that December has been so far!

You see, for the past two weeks, almost every night, my hubby and I have had somewhere to be in the evening. Wednesdays are our small group Bible study. We started taking Early Childhood Education classes that meet for 3 hours once a week (but we’re taking two classes, so that’s two nights a week). We’ve had a Christmas party, a trip to Disneyland, and of course, church (in the new building!).

Oh, and don’t forget Christmas shopping (DONE! Just waiting on one more thing in the mail and I have 2 or 3 little things to make) and Christmas decorating (DONE!) and Christmas cards (not quite done…hopefully early this week!).

So, what I’ve pretty much decided while being away, is that I’m probably only going to be participating in 1 or 2 photo challenges a week. I didn’t like what my blog has become – post after post of photos that I took just to fulfill an “assignment.” I felt like my creativity was being compromised because I was always looking for something to fit into a particular theme. Photography wasn’t fun anymore. It became one more thing to check off my list. I still love taking photos (though I’m glad my 365 photo challenge is only 20 days from its conclusion), but I want to work more on photographing things because I see something, not because it will fit into a particular category. I’m not saying doing what I’ve been doing is wrong for anyone else, it’s just not right for me.

I want to share my life…all the fun and exciting things that have happened and will happen, as well as the mundane and normal…and my journey on my 101 in 1001 and Mission: Lose Lotsa Weight challenges. Our little family of two also likely has some big changes coming in 2011 and I want this blog to be a place to share and celebrate those changes (for those of you wondering, we’re planning to purchase our first home and are hoping to grow our family, too).

As for the photo challenge I started, Lens Art…it’s on hiatus indefinitely. I would love to continue the challenge, but I just don’t have the time or energy for it right now. I thank all of you who did participate and I loved seeing your photographic artwork!

So, with all that said, I do have a long list of blog posts to catch up on…mostly 101 in 1001 related, but there’s a lot that’s happened in the past month and a half or so that I haven’t posted here yet. I hope to see you all around still, even if it’s just to read about boring ol’ me.

Posted on December 12, 2010, in 101 in 1001, Lens Art, Mission: Lose Lotsa Weight, Personal, Photo Challenges, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

