Mission: Lose Lotsa Weight January Update

It’s been a few months since I’ve given you an update on my Mission: Lose Lotsa Weight, and with the new year upon us, what better time to re-commitment to losing weight and being healthy be eating less (and more healthy) and moving more!

First up, the dreaded photo…


It’s a slightly different angle and a little closer crop, but it still shows that there definitely has been some changes that have stuck around since October, especially in the waist (I’ve pretty much maintained since then, but haven’t lost more).

THE STATS:
Weight: 188.8 (-5.2)
Bust: 44 (no change)
Waist: 42 (-5)
Hips: 47 (-1)
Size: 18
(and I’m actually fitting into some 18 jeans I couldn’t button comfortably before)
BMI: 33.4 (-1)

EATING LESS: I’ve renewed my commitment to cutting soda out of my diet completely (I got hooked on it in November & December, drinking one can almost every day!).  I’ve also cut back on fast food again and am making sure to bring my lunch to work (and it’s mostly just snacks…fruit, pretzels, string cheese…and I’m usually not very hungry since I’m snacking throughout the day).  My biggest struggle is dinner, especially when eating out or eating at my parents.  I don’t necessarily make unhealthy choices as far as selecting the food I eat, but I am still eating too much of it.  I also got into the habit of wanting an after-dinner snack around 9:30 or 10:00.  I don’t think I’m actually hungry, but bored.  I really need to get that self-control of waiting at least 20-minutes before deciding if I actually need a second helping of something and not just eating more because it tastes so yummy or because I’m bored.

MOVING MORE: I ran/moved very little in December. Between the soreness in my shins (it wasn’t shin splints) and the uncharacteristic weeks of rain we had here in Southern California, I got out of the habit of running at least 3 times a week.  Well, I have no choice now!  Just before the new year, I signed up to run in the Cinco De Mayo Half Marathon in Irvine on May 1…that’s just a hair over 16 weeks away!  The race is actually a fundraiser for Pediatric Cancer Research and I’ve joined team Tiny Oranges (a website for moms – no I’m not a mom yet – in Orange County).  I have a training plan that I found online that really fits with my schedule and goals (just finishing!), so I’m very optimistic about this race.  I also plan to run in a 5K and 10K during the course of my training, probably in late February and late March.  If you’re interested in sponsoring me or making a donation, please click the button below and make a difference in a child’s life!  Every little bit helps, even just $5 or $10!

Posted on January 7, 2011, in Mission: Lose Lotsa Weight. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

