One Word

Over the past week or so, I have been hearing a lot about this idea of selecting one word to focus on for the entire year of 2011.  Some have used it to replace the traditional resolutions and some have selected a focus in addition to them.

This year, I decided to join in and select a word for the year, in addition to my resolutions/101 list.

God revealed my word to me just minutes after I decided I wanted a word to focus on. I wasn’t totally sure that was my word right away, but when it kept coming to my mind throughout the day, I knew it was the right one for me.

So…my word for 2011 is….

PEACE

I am a little leery about it, because if I need to work on being content, no matter what the situation, finding peace in the midst of chaos, I can only imagine what this year may have in store for us!

Oh, I also selected a verse to go along with my word, a verse that has been on my mind since selecting my word.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:6-7 (NIV)

Don’t worry about anything, but pray about everything. With thankful hearts offer up your prayers and requests to God. Then, because you belong to Christ Jesus, God will bless you with peace that no one can completely understand. And this peace will control the way you think and feel.  – Philippians 4:6-7 (Contemporary English Version)

Posted on January 9, 2011, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Peace will be a good word to strive for… because once you achieve it… even if for one splendid moment… the moment will be quiet, safe, and beautiful.

    My word: FORWARD

  2. love your word, katie. i often look for peace to rescue me from the storm when He wants me to look for His peace in the midst of the storm… to keep my heart anchored to Him through the worst of it.

  3. God showed me peace this last year like I could have never imagined. When you seek Him, He will answer you.

    Blessings,
    Cole

Leave a Reply

