#44: Family Portraits 2010

I can’t remember exactly where I heard this idea, but I love it anyway!

A great way to make sure you have up-to-date family portraits is to plan a photo shoot every year around the time of your anniversary. You can see how you and your family have changed and grown from one year to the next and if you do it in the fall, like we plan to (thanks to our October 4 wedding date), we can use the photos for our annual Christmas cards!

For 2010, however, I wanted to do a “Rock the Dress” or “Happily Ever After” photo shoot. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s similar to a “Trash the Dress” session where you wear your wedding dress and do things to “trash” it (I’ve seen things from paint to water to mud and dirt), except you don’t actually do anything to trash the dress. You just get to have the joys of wearing your wedding dress again and reliving the joy of your wedding day, while getting some more unique photos in your wedding attire, or making sure to get some photos you may have missed in the busy-ness of your wedding day. I didn’t want to kiss John before the wedding ceremony, but we were doing most of our photos before, so I gave our photography one chance to get a kissing photo…she got the shot, but when I was looking through the photos of our wedding day, I was bummed we didn’t have more photos of us kissing from that day (yes, I am stubborn!).

For our shoot, I contacted a friend from high school who is working to build her portfolio and not only did she do our photo shoot, but she also did my hair (which I TOTALLY loved!). Thanks Janette of Daneshmand Photography!

WARNING: Lots of photos ahead! I had a hard time narrowing it down! I loved so many of them and wanted to share!












Posted on February 16, 2011, in 101 in 1001, Vacations & Celebrations. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My favorite is them kissing under all those cool branches! They will be thrilled to death with these!

Leave a Reply

