#6: Run a Half-Marathon

Well, I did it! I finished a half-marathon! I wish I could say that I actually RAN it, but in all honesty, I walked about half of it. Lots of factors working against me that day, including the unusually warm weather that early in the morning, the number of hills that I DIDN’T train for, and the fact the we had moved just one week prior so life was kind of upside down! But I finished (though there were some points I wasn’t sure I was going to make it)! I felt like I was going to throw up or pass out for a couple of house after I finished and walking to the car after the race was probably pretty funny to watch (the hubby drove and took photos for me…he’s great!).

The race I decided to run was the Cinco de Mayo Half-Marathon that was raising money for the Pediatric Cancer Research Foundation. I raised a total of $215, which I thought was pretty good considering that I entered the race purely for running a half-marathon, so I didn’t really push the fundraising part of it!

We got there extra early to make sure I would have time to warm up before the race – and to make sure I was there for the 7:00 a.m. start time since it was a 30-45 minute drive from the new house.

The race started right on time and off we went. I waved to John as I headed out on the course – the last time I’d see him for over 3 hours!

I finally finished the race and collected my finishers medal – pretty proud of that sucker – and then promptly collapsed on the grass to stretch and try to prevent passing out. I was finally well enough to walk to the car and head home, though it took several hours to fully recover. Can’t you tell how I feel by how lovely I look? Ugg…not a fan of this photo!

So, I know you’re all wondering what my time was…well, not spectacular at all. Not at all what I had hoped. But I finished and I’m told that’s a big deal for a first half-marathon.  Okay, so my official time was 3:24:03, which is a 15:35 mile (yes, horrible and not at all what I was training at).

Would I do it again? If you asked me that at about 11:00 on May 1, I would have said, yeah right! But after having time to cover and reflect on the experience, yes I definitely want to do it again. I have a couple of races this fall in my sights and John might even run with me this time! Hopefully having a partner to train and run with will help make sure I’m keeping up with my training and for encouragement throughout the race course. My goal for my next race is to finish in under 3-hours, which I don’t think is unreasonable at all!

Posted on May 25, 2011, in 101 in 1001. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Congrats…that is a huge accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

